What a difference a run makes…

8 Dec

Things are looking up.

We have settled on N’s car and so now all we have to do is ‘go car shopping’, the fridge is undergoing some intensive treatment (long term defrosting), which we hope will be the tonic it needs and I have a shiny new battery in my car – so I am all sorted for those imminent sub-zero winter mornings. There is always a silver lining if you look hard enough 😉

I have just come back from a run and (without going all evangelical on your ass) I am constantly amazed by the refreshing and revitalising impact it can have; particularly when life is a little challenging. It was dark, wet and windy when I set off. It had been a busy day, I hadn’t eaten brilliantly (Xmas lunch season has started in earnest!) and I had fitted in a lot of walking etc. In essence, I was tired. With a busy night in store (mainly 26.2 campaigning – see below and vote for me!),  I knew exactly how long I was going to run for and my planned movements on my return – control freak, me? No! But then that magical thing happened; it flowed, and I ended up running a couple of miles further than I had planned and at a decent pace – 6 miles in just less than 49 mins. Not a bad effort!

I find this tends to happen as mysteriously as when you are up for it, the weather is gorgeous, you feel great, keen even, and then every single step is a mission. One day I will work out the magical formula for these ‘good’ runs; maybe it is a careful combination of hydration, time of day, temperature, fatigue etc or maybe they just happen exactly when you need them! This afternoon, a good colleague was extolling the virtues of ‘low expectations’ (“…you can only be pleasantly surprised”) and I think that maybe she is right. Tonight, everything screamed that my run was going to be tough and I was VERY pleasantly surprised to find the running Gods smiling on me! A cathartic end to the day.

And the biggest silver lining of all, tomorrow is Friday. The weekend is almost in reach…

p.s. if you would like to vote for me to win the fabulous ASICS Target 26.2 competition, then please follow the instructions below. It would make my week! 🙂

Go to www.runnersworld.co.uk

Sign  Up  (link found in the top right hand corner)  – you will need to be registered  on the site to vote but this will literally take a couple of seconds.  Just  put in your e-mail address and create a password. If for some crazy reason you are not interested in running, you might want to  uncheck all of the boxes so they don’t send you any further comms!
Runner’s World will instantly send you an e-mail entitled ‘member validation’ with a link back to the Runner’s World website. Click on that  hyperlink and you are in!
Visit the following page by copying and pasting the following hyperlink or clicking on the Asics 26.2 Target 26.2 Banner (No. 4) at the top of the page – http://www.runnersworld.co.uk/general/asics-target-262-the-vote/7748.html N.B. Do  not go to this page before registering otherwise it will not let you vote
Scroll to the bottom of the page, click on ‘PB Hunter’
Scroll to the bottom of that page and vote for JADE  by clicking on the button by my name and hitting the submit button
2 Responses to “What a difference a run makes…”

  1. Chris Robins December 9, 2011 at 1:49 pm #

    Glad to vote for you as a former Marathon runner.
    Please give my regards to Nathan

Leave a Reply

